Stefan Jarl International Documentary Award

Sharmarke Binyusuf was born in Mogadishu and moved to Sweden in 1995. Today he is studying documentary filmmaking at Stockholm Academy Of dramatic Arts. He has been linked to Story AB since 2010. He is one of the director of the documentary film “I Am Dublin”. Sharmarke is one of the initiators of Noncitizen and Cinemat. Noncitizen is a nomadic film project that shows films about class and migration in conjunction with other events. Cinemat was a film club that showed short films once a month from 2009-2010.

Amir Chamdin is an award-winning filmmaker, renowned for his work across music videos, film, TV Series and commercials. Highlights include MTV Best Video winner “You’re the Storm” for The Cardigans, the feature film sensation ‘Cornelis’ – about one of Sweden’s greatest music legends, ‘Om Gud Vill’ starring Nina Persson and the crime-thriller ‘Hassel’ starring Ola Rapace. Stockholm native Amir Chamdin first made a name for himself as a member of the Swedish cult-band Infinite Mass. Directing and creating the visual world of the band gave him the stepping-stone to become a fulltime director. As with composing music, he gives full attention to rhythm, phasing and structure, which is evident in all of his work.

Jannike Åhlund is the editor of nordicwomeninfilm.com and chairs person for the Bergman center at Fårö. She’s a journalist, critic and former artistic director of Gothenburg Film Festival, editor for the magazine Chaplin among other things. 2017 she directed the documentary Citizen Schein together with Maud Nycander and Kersti Grunditz Brennan.


Tempo Documentary Award

Ane Brun is an Norwegian musician, songwriter, artist, living in Stockholm since 2001. She had released a dozen albums world-wide on her own label Ballon Ranger since her debut in 2003, and has done numerous collaborations and also written songs for films. She just released the cover album Leave Me Breathless (2017) and has written music to the 2018 feature movies “Puzzle” (Marc Turtletaub) and “Becoming Astrid” (Pernille Fischer Christensen).

Karin Ekberg is a documentary filmmaker with a background in journalism and photography. Her debut was in 2014 with the movie “Att skiljas” who also opened Tempo documentary festival and then shown on Swedish cinema and television. Last year, her movie “Efter Inez” won the Tempo Documentary Award. Karin also works film-politically as a shared chairman of Oberoende Filmares Förbund, and is a diligently engaged guest lecturer and workshop leader both at home and internationally.

Behzad Khosravi Noori is an artist, writer and educator that holds a MFA from Konstfack (Art in Public Realm) and Motion Pictures from Tarbiat Modares University in Tehran. In the past, he has given lectures, led theory and practice seminars about comparative art history with a focus on microhistory, Islamicate arts as well as research based art practices and politics of representation in various art universities in Iran and Sweden. His works have been shown in various national and international exhibitions such as Tensta Konsthall, Botkyrka Konsthall, MKC in Stockholm, Sakakini art institution, Ramallah Palestine; Arran Gallery Tehran and 2017 research pavilion at Venice Biennale.


Tempo Short Award

Aida Chehrehgosha is an artist born in Teheran, Iran 1980. She lives and works in Stockholm. Chehrehgosha studied at Konstfack, University College of Arts, Crafts and Design, Stockholm, Sweden (2003 – 2009) and at Royal Institute of Art, Stockholm, Sweden (2009 – 2010). Her works have been exhibited in numerous solo exhibitions and group shows. She is represented by Galerie Forsblom in Stockholm.

Axel Danielson and Maximilien Van Aertryck collaborate under the banner of Plattform Produktion. Together, Van Aertryck and Danielson direct and produce both feature length documentaries and short films. Their short films have premiered in the official competitions of Berlin, Cannes, Sundance and Toronto, earning several awards. Their recent short film, “Ten Meter Tower”, has been seen by millions through the New York Times’ website and was shortlisted for the Best Short Documentary Academy Award. Their films aim to have a critical and humorous approach and are distinguishable through their minimalistic style, as well as theme-based rather than plot-driven narratives.

Sophie Vuković  is a filmmaker based in Stockholm. Her short film «09:55-11:05, Ingrid Ekman, Bergsgatan 4B» has been awarded at festivals around the globe. Her documentary feature length debut «Shapeshifters» premiered 2017. Vuković currently studies at the Royal Institute of Arts.


New Doc

Matiss Kaza is an award-winning filmmaker, educated at New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts. His debut documentary feature One Ticket Please has been screened in film festivals around the world, winning several awards. The film was also released theatrically in Latvia. When he’s not pursuing theatrical exploits in New York City, Matiss works at Deep Sea Studios, a production company which he co-founded in Riga, Latvia, where he directs and produces both fiction and documentary films.

Anna Lindström has a background as market manager at Stockholm Film Festival where she’s also been on the jury for 1 km film since 2011. Anna started working in film distribution in 2004 and was at that time head of marketing at Nobel Entertainment where she started the cinema department and worked with titels such as Capturing the Friedmans, Old Boy and Precious. Anna has also worked with inport and distribution at Cinematic Vision, SF and Koch Media. 2013 she started Lucky Dogs where she’s currently CEO and distribution manager. Lucky Dogs has since the start launched over 80 films. The Crash Reel, Ceremonin, AMY and Moonlight are only a few of them.

Valentina Bender is the project manager for the film and cinema department at Kulturhuset Stadsteatern in Skärholmen. The newly opened Skäris cinema is the first cinema in Stockholm dedicated children and youth film as well as filmmaking. Valentina has a background as festival producer at Stockholm Film Festival Junior and is one of the funders of the alternative cultural bus company RättBuss.


Short Dox Radio

Malin Axelsson is a play writer, author and director. She’s also the artistic director for Swedish Radio Drama since 2015. She’s the author and director of radio dramas such as “Cheferna” (2015) and “Parmiddagen” (2016) and has directed several plays for Stadsteatern, Riksteatern, ung scen/öst, Unga Klara among others. 2016 she was awarded the Mare Kandre award.

Jon Jordås won Short Dox Radio 2017. He works at Swedish Radio P1 and graduated as a radio producer from Stockholm School of Dramatics.

Tomas Rajnai has studied at är utbildad Stockholm School of Dramatic’s as well as the international curator program at Stockholm University. He is a director and the artistic director for Osynliga Teatern and was awarded the Stockholm City culture prize 2017. The same year he was elected to the performative arts biennal with the piece Det levda baklänges. He’s previous productions has been presented at festivals and theater ‘s all over the world such as The Royal Theater in Stockholm, Stadsteatern in Reykjavik, CPH Stage and Reykjavik Arts Festival.


Tempo Pitch

Matti Kentrschynskyj is an editor at SVT Dokumentär.

Melissa Lindgren is the artistic director at Tempo Documentary Festival.

Lisa Widén is the production manager på Film region Stockholm-Mälardalen.

Tempo on Instagram

Read more!