Tempo Documentary Festival hosts seven competitions. These are Stefan Jarl International Documentary Award, Tempo Documentary Award, Tempo Short Award, New Doc, Tempo Pitch, Short Dox Radio and new in 2019; Tempo Sound Award.

Stefan Jarl International Documentary Award

Stefan Jarl International Documentary Award is named after the Swedish documentary filmmaker, known for legendary documentaries such as Dom kallar oss mods/They Call Us Misfits and Ett anständigt liv/A Respectable Life. The award was established in 2012 with the purpose to highlight the best foreign documentaries from the past year and the winner receives €2 000. The award is presented with support from The Barbro Osher Pro Suecia Foundation.

Stefan Jarl International Documentary Award 2021

The Earth Is Blue as an Orange by Iryna Tsilyk

Tempo Documentary Award

Tempo Documentary Award is Sweden’s largest documentary film competition where the winning director receives 75 000 SEK. The award is presented with support from the Swedish Film Institute.

Tempo Documentary Award 2021

Imads barndom by Zahavi Sanjavi

Tempo Short Award

Tempo Short Award is a competition for best Swedish short documentary, where the winning director is awarded 25 000 SEK. The award is presented with support from the Swedish Film Institute.

Tempo Short Award 2021

Man med duvor by Lina Maria Mannheimer

Honorary Mention
Between These Folded Walls, Utopia by Sarah Cooper and Nina Gorfer

New Doc

New Doc is an award for unestablished Swedish filmmakers. The award is given to a promising new documentary film director and consists of 40 000 SEK from regional film bodies Filmbasen/Film Stockholm, Film i Dalarna, Film i Öst, Film Västernorrland, FilmCloud/Förvaltningen för kulturutveckling, Filmregion Sydost and Kultur i Halland - Film.

New Doc 2021

Obituary by Simon Revilla

Honorary Mention

En mammas kropp by Jonelle Twum

Tempo Sound Award

The Tempo Sound Award was introduced in 2019. It is distributed to the short film, among the competition films in the Tempo Short Award, which has the most thoughtful and creative sound image. The prize consists of 60 000 SEK for use in Momento Studio, equivalent to approximately two weeks in the studio with sound designer. 

Tempo Sound Award 2021

Man med duvor by Lina Maria Mannheimer

Honorary Mention

The Bodies by Eloy Domínguez Serén

Short Dox Radio

In the Short Dox Radio competition, ten three-minute radio documentaries compete for the prize of 5 000 SEK. The winning entry may also participate in the Nordic shortdox competition which takes place in Denmark later this spring. New since 2019 is an upgrade of the prize in collaboration with the production company Munck, which offers studio time and a producer to the winner’s next audio documentary. The award was established by Bengt Bok, a professor of radio production at the Stockholm Academy of Dramatic Arts. 

Short Dox Radio 2021

Tjugotjugo by Anna Frey

Honorary Mention
Mellanförskap by Nour Hanna

Tempo Pitch

Tempo Pitch is a competition where film directors and producers present their new projects in front of a jury and audience. The award consists of 90 000 SEK to be invested in the project. Tempo Pitch is arranged in collaboration with, and financed by, SVT Dokumentär, The Swedish Film Institute and Film Capital Stockholm.

Tempo Pitch 2021

Aida was here by Amanda Pesikan